TECHNICAL ADVICE

Introduction

This page will be used for information explaining certain aspects or features of the app, or for suggesting fixes for problems that may be device-related rather than to do with the app. If you encounter any bugs while using the app please report them and we will endeavour to address them ASAP. If you have any queries please get in touch with us via the 'Contact Us' page.

Android Screen Overlay Detected

Uncover Launceston asks for permission to use several of the features of your device. These are the navigation functions and also for access to the camera and file storage. Uncover Launceston can't navigate without your permission, and it can't access the camera unless you specifically allow it. Of course, if you don't wish to use these features that's fine, you don't have to grant the permissions. The app will still work as an audio guide without these features, and the map will still show you the locations of the points of interest.

However, let's assume you do want to use these features. Sometimes, you may get a warning about 'screen overlay detected' when attempting to grant permissions to Uncover Launceston. Screen overlay is a feature that allows apps to draw on top of other apps. You may be familiar with it from Facebook Messenger, Twilight, or a number of other apps. Uncover Launceston doesn't use screen overlay, but the Android operating system won't allow users to grant permissions to any app while any other app that uses screen overlay is running, even if the app using screen overlays is in the background.

What can you do? In the first instance, you can try stopping any apps that are running that might have screen overlays. Press the 'Overview' button and close any running apps. Next, go to Settings, then Apps, then find Uncover Launceston. In the Settings for Uncover Launceston there will be a permissions setting and you should hopefully be able to grant the permissions. If not, the next step would be to go through each of the apps that have the screen overlay permission and revoke that permission before granting permissions to Uncover Launceston. Once Uncover Launceston has the permissions it requires, the screen overlays can be re-enabled if desired. Unfortunately there is no easier way to do this and we hope Google come up with a better solution soon.

Android Downloading via 3G/4G

Uncover Launceston is a big app; more than 100Mb. That's because all of the content is packaged in the app and that means that once it's downloaded, it uses very little data. In fact the only network traffic it uses once installed is if you are navigating, in which case the map backgrounds will be downloaded from Google. What this means is that we strongly recommend downloading the app via Wi-Fi rather than via a cellular service such as 3G or 4G. In fact, you probably won't be able to download the app without a Wi-Fi connection.

If you really want to download the app via cellular, you may be able to do so by following these instructions. Open the Play Store app on your device. Open the menu and then tap Settings. Tap 'Auto-update apps' and choose 'Auto-update apps at any time. Data charges may apply'. Exit back to the main screen and your download should proceed. If you download the app after enabling this option, we strongly suggest you turn this option back off again later to avoid unwanted cellular downloads.

Android Downloading Problems

We are aware of one case where the app did not download correctly to an older Android device using cellular data. In this instance, going to Settings > Apps > Google Play Store and choosing 'Clear data' and 'Clear cache' and also clearing the data and cache for the 'Download Manager' app fixed the problem. If you encounter download difficulties you could try this fix.

iOS Location Settings

When using Uncover Launceston, you may get a blue bar at the top of the screen saying 'Uncover Launceston is using your location.', or words to that effect. Uncover Launceston uses your location to tell you how far away you are from points of interest, and more importantly, to notify you when you get close to a point of interest. iOS has two levels of location permission - 'while in use', and 'always'. Uncover Launceston works best with the 'always' permission because that way it can issue you notifications when you approach a point of interest, even if the phone is locked or the app is in the background. If you want this feature, you will need the 'always' permission enabled.

If you allow the 'while in use' permission but not the 'always' permission, you should only get notifications while the app is actively in use, and not when the phone is locked.

You can grant or revoke either level of permission at any time via Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uncover Launceston.

In addition, in the Uncover Launceston settings within the app you can stop the navigation functions at any time, without revoking the permission through the main Privacy menu. We strongly suggest that you turn navigation off if you are not actually using the app, as using the navigation will drain your battery more quickly than not using it.